PSCP Continuing Education Events
Fall 2016 3 hours/ 3.0 credits unless otherwise stated
Click Here to Register for workshops
Great thanks to all who shared in our
Fall Continuing Education Events this Fall 2016!
Our exciting, innovative series of Continuing Education Workshops, Events and Films will be announcing in the coming weeks!
Free Continental breakfast or lunch
Professional Registration Fee:
$95 Non Member
|3.0 CE credits each 3 hour workshop
Student Registration Fee:
$60 Non Member $60
|Philadelphia Society of Clinical Psychologists is approved by the
American Psychological Association to sponsor continuing education for psychologists.
Philadelphia Society of Clinical Psychologists maintains responsibility for this program and its content.
The Pennsylvania Boards of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors have approved APA/PSCP programs for CE credits for these professionals.
CE policy Weather policy Fee policy
Continuing Education and Events Announcement Coming Soon!
|Important note: Even if you have taken this course during your last licensing period, this course is updated, allows for new CE credits, and satisfies your new requirement with the state of Pennsylvania in this new licensing period|
Updated Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Training for Mandated Reporters
This workshop is mandated by the Pennsylvania Department of Human Services (formerly Public Welfare) for all licensed and certified professionals in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The purpose of this workshop is to acquaint all professionals with signs of child abuse and how to make the appropriate report to either the Department of Human Services or to the local, county office of children and youth.
The procedure for reporting suspicions of child abuse in good faith will be described along with a description of how each report will be handled. The professions included in this mandate will be listed along with potential penalties for not reporting suspecting child abuse to the appropriate authorities. Appropriate reporting material will be disseminated.
1. Discussing the differences between Child Protective Services and General Protective Services in Pennsylvania
2. Describing Components of Child Abuse and Exclusions to Child Abuse.
Listing common signs of Child Abuse
3. Describing Mandatory and Permissive Child Abuse Reporters
4. Explaining Mandatory and Permissive Child Abuse Reporters and Penalties for not Reporting Child Abuse
Act 31 Fact Sheet
Important Facts: Act 31 A2014, passed April 15, 2014 mandates training and child abuse recognition and reporting for all health care professionals and funeral directors each licensing biennium. It augments previous legislation, specifying educators as mandated reporters.
Questions and Answers about Child Abuse Training:
Who is eligible to take this course with PSCP? Who can you invite to join you?
- LPC's, MFT, Health Professionals, Social Workers, Psychologists plus..
- Licensed Physicians or Osteopaths, Medical examiners, Coroner, Funeral Directors
Dentists, optometrists, chiropractors, Podiatrists, RNs, LPNs
Hospital personnel, Christian Science Practitioners,
School Administrators, Teachers, Nurses (School), Social Service workers
Day Care Center workers, Child Care or Foster Care Workers
Mental Health professionals, Peace officers or Law Enforcement officers
"UPDATED Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Training for Mandated Reporters"
What licensing information do I need to know?
- New licensees must complete 3 hours of training
- Licensee renewals must have 2 hours of training.
- These hours can count towards your 30 credits
- Social Workers biennium ends February 28, 2015.
- Psychologists biennium end November 30, 2015.
What is the cost and what is provided?
- $70.00 PSCP Members $80.00 Not yet members
- 3.0 continuing education credits
- Continental breakfast, delicious Lunch or light evening meal
- Opportunity for Act 48 credits ($15.00 for 3.0 credits)
Who is providing the training?
Training provided by Philadelphia Society of Clinical Psychologists approved by Department of Public Welfare.
How can my friends and colleagues register?
Feel free to share this information with colleagues. They may also register at the link provided at the top of the page.
1.$15 Late Registration Fee less than 48 hours before workshop.
2. $20 Walk-In Registration Fee in addition to workshop fee.
3. If a registrant cancels less than 48 hours before a workshop, PSCP will issue a certificate to attend a future workshop of equal duration. If the participant cancels registration more than 48 hours before a scheduled workshop, the participant may choose to receive a refund or a certificate for a future workshop of equal duration.
PSCP Continuing Education Policy
- A participant may arrive no more than 10 minutes late nor leave before the end of the workshop to receive credit for a program.
- Full attendance at a workshop is required to receive CE credit.
- Late arrivals or early departures will preclude awarding CE credits.
- Partial credit will not be awarded.
In the event of inclement weather, the PSCP office will
make every attempt to notify registered participants of any change in a
scheduled workshop by contacting you at the phone and email you registered with.
- Postponement information will be posted on the website by 5:00 PM the day before the workshop.
- Email notifications will be sent to registrants by 5:00 PM the day before the workshop.
- An attempt will be made to notify each registrant by phone (at the number given when registering) the day before the workshop..
- In the event of postponement, registration will be honored at the rescheduled program, or at a future workshop of the registrants choosing.
- Should an emergency arise early in the morning of a workshop program, a notification will be posted on the PSCP website by 6:30 AM (if possible)